The Cabinet and Portfolio Holders are responsible for most day-to-day decisions while the Panels (still often referred to as "Committees") scrutinise those decisions and review policy.  There are also a number of Committees which deal with regulatory matters.  

    Latest Committee
    Councillor Contact

Committee Details - Planning Committee

Committee Details

This Committee deals with

planning applications, planning enforcement, public rights of way and certain highway matters.

Committee Contact
Name: Richard Clifford
Address: Colchester Borough Council
33 Sheepen Road
Postcode: CO3 3WG
Phone: 01206 507832
Fax: 01206 764023
Email: richard.clifford@colchester.gov.uk
Web: www.colchester.gov.uk
Committee Membership
Position in Committee Committee Member Party Ward
Member  Councillor Peter Chillingworth   Conservative  Great Tey 
Deputy Chairman  Councillor Helen Chuah   Liberal Democrats  St Anne's 
Chairman  Councillor Theresa Higgins   Liberal Democrats  New Town 
Member  Councillor Sonia Lewis   Conservative  Lexden 
Member  Councillor Cyril Liddy   Labour  Wivenhoe Quay 
Member  Councillor Michael Lilley   Labour  East Donyland 
Member  Councillor Jackie Maclean   Conservative  Copford and West Stanway 
Member  Councillor Jon Manning   Liberal Democrats  Wivenhoe Cross 
Member  Councillor Philip Oxford   The Highwoods Group  Highwoods 
Member  Councillor Laura Sykes   Liberal Democrats  Stanway 
Pool of Substitutes
Substitute Party Ward
Christopher Arnold   Conservative  Fordham and Stour 
Nick Barlow   Liberal Democrats  Castle 
Lyn Barton   Liberal Democrats  Shrub End 
Kevin Bentley   Conservative  Birch and Winstree 
Mary Blandon   Liberal Democrats  Harbour 
Mark Cable   Conservative  Dedham and Langham 
Nigel Chapman   Conservative  Fordham and Stour 
Barrie Cook   Liberal Democrats  St Anne's 
Nick Cope   Liberal Democrats  Christ Church 
Beverly Davies   Conservative  Prettygate 
John Elliott   Conservative  Tiptree 
Andrew Ellis   Conservative  Birch and Winstree 
Annie Feltham   Liberal Democrats  New Town 
Bill Frame   Liberal Democrats  Castle 
Ray Gamble   Liberal Democrats  St John's 
Marcus Harrington   Conservative  West Bergholt and Eight Ash Green 
Dave Harris   Labour  Berechurch 
Julia Havis   Liberal Democrats  Harbour 
Jo Hayes   Liberal Democrats  Castle 
Pauline Hazell   Conservative  Shrub End 
Peter Higgins   Liberal Democrats  New Town 
Brian Jarvis   Conservative  Lexden 
Margaret Kimberley   Conservative  West Mersea 
Sue Lissimore   Conservative  Prettygate 
Colin Mudie   Liberal Democrats  Berechurch 
Nigel Offen   Liberal Democrats  Shrub End 
Gerard Oxford   The Highwoods Group  Highwoods 
Will Quince   Conservative  Prettygate 
Lesley Scott-Boutell   Liberal Democrats  Stanway 
Peter Sheane   Conservative  West Mersea 
Paul Smith   Liberal Democrats  St John's 
Terry Sutton   Conservative  Pyefleet 
Colin Sykes   Liberal Democrats  Stanway 
Anne Turrell   Liberal Democrats  Mile End 
Dennis Willetts   Conservative  West Bergholt and Eight Ash Green 
Julie Young   Labour  St Andrew's